Specifying a perimeter IP with Exchange Edge Transport

So I was trying to figure out how to exempt a particular IP address from connection filtering on an Exchange Edge Transport server. I needed to do this to keep Edge from deciding that the internal relay server was generating spam. It’s going to be injecting spam (for some tests I’m doing), but I didn’t want the sender reputation agent to decide that the server was a spammer itself.

My first thought was to add the server’s IP to the IP accept list. That wouldn’t work, though, because mail coming from IPs that appear on the accept list are tagged with an SCL of -1, indicating that no further filtering is necessary. I could have turned off connection filtering altogether, but I didn’t want to do that either. Finally I broke down and pinged a friend who works for Microsoft, and once he understood what I wanted to do he came up with the right answer: I needed to use the set-transportConfig cmdlet’s -internalSMTPServers flag.

Once I knew that, I was able to find references to the cmdlet all over the place (including one at Bharat’s blog from yesterday… I guess that’s a good reason to be more diligent about my blog reading!) As much as I’ve worked with Exchange 2007 over the last year, I still have a lot to learn.

Technorati Tags:

Comments Off

Filed under UC&C

Comments are closed.